Not signed in (Sign In)
The Intervals Forum is read-only
Please head to help.myintervals.com for help articles and guides. If you have any questions, please contact our support team.

New to Intervals? Have questions or need help?

Client Departments/Areas

Bottom of Page

1 to 4 of 4

I'm new to Intervals and trying to figure out how best to conform to its structure to get the most out of it.

I have a large client that has several internal departments, Accounting, Sales and Marketing, etc. They want to be able to know how much time we spend working on projects for each individual department. Conceptually, I think of this as...

Client | Department | Project | Module | Work Task

Of course Intervals doesn't have (appears to not have) the "Department" concept. My initial thought was to either roll up the department information into the Client and lose the ability to report across all of the client's projects or push down the department into the Project, effectively making Modules projects...

Client 1 [Accounting] | Project... | Module... | Work Task...
    Client 1 [Sales and Marketing] | Project... | Module... | Work Task...

or

Client 1 | [Accounting] | Project/Module... | Work Task...
    Client 1 | [Sales and Marketing] | Project/Module... | Work Task...

Maybe there are more sophisticated reporting mechanisms that I'm not aware of, but I was thinking that you could roll up totals by Client, Project, Module at the very least. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

I am also new to intervals and trying to figure out if we can adopt this to fit our workflow needs. In reading your example above, what if you broke out the projects first.
    The hierarchy would look something like:
    Client -> Project -> Department -> Tasks

ClientA -> Project1 -> Sales ->Tasks
    ClientA -> Project1 -> Accounting ->Tasks
    ClientA -> Project1 -> Marketing ->Tasks

ClientA -> Project2 -> Sales ->Tasks
    ClientA -> Project2 -> Accounting ->Tasks